2017 The Year of the Fire Rooster

2017 The Year of the Fire Rooster

Celebrations for the Chinese New Year took place this weekend, and 2017 sees the start of the Year of the Rooster (or cockerel, as we tend to say in Britain).

The Chinese zodiac moves in a 12-year cycle and those born in 1945, 1957, 1969, 1981, 1993 and 2005 are known as Roosters.

Year of the rooster 
Year of the Rooster

However, not all Roosters are equal. There are five different types, each with different characteristics. This is the year of the Fire Rooster, which last fell in 1957.

Fire Roosters are known for being trustworthy, punctual and responsible (especially at work). Other types are Wood Roosters, Earth Roosters, Gold Roosters and Water Roosters.

On the whole, Roosters are considered to be active, amusing, popular, healthy, outspoken, honest, loyal, talkative and charming. They are known to enjoy the spotlight, but can be vain and boastful.

Famous faces born in the Year of the Rooster include Prince Philip, Serena Williams, Beyonce and Roger Federer.

The luckiest things for Roosters:

  • Numbers: 5, 7 and 8
  • Days: The 4th and 26th days of a Chinese lunar month
  • Colours: Gold, brown and yellow
  • Flowers: Gladiola, cockscomb
  • Months: The 2nd, 5th and 11th Chinese lunar months

Things Roosters should avoid:

  • Colours: Red
  • Numbers: 1, 3 and 9
  • Months: The 3rd, 9th and 12th Chinese lunar months
Previous article Storage ideas for the New Year
Back To Blog
Next article Indonesia inspired with our latest range of home accessories

Leave a comment

Comments must be approved before appearing

* Required fields